Mendelssohn / Shostakovich / Khachaturian CD
Sinfonia Toronto / Nurhan Arman, Conductor
Mendelssohn: String Symphony No. 7 in D Minor
Shostakovich: Chamber Symphony in A flat major Op. 118a orchestra version by Arman
Khachaturian: Masquerade Suite chamber version by Arman  

Flanders Fields CD 
Sinfonia Toronto / Nurhan Arman, Conductor /  Shauna Rolston, Cellist
Music of John Burge

*** Juno Award Winner ***

This recording features the music of renowned Canadian composer John Burge. The thirteen-member chamber ensemble Sinfonia Toronto brings to life Burge's reflections and musical interpretations of Canadian culture and heritage and the sheer beauty of Canada's landscape.

Upper Canada Fiddle Suite is a nostalgic musical journey around the waterways near the Great Lakes. One Sail is a musical reflection on the Canadian landscape and features the artistry of Canadian cellist Shauna Rolston. Flanders Field Reflections musically interprets five phrases taken from John McCrae's famous World War I poem, expressing the extreme emotional gamut of loss, despair, sacrifice, obligation and hope.

John Burge's title composition, "Flanders Fields Reflections", was awarded the 2009 Juno Award for Best Classical Composition.

Upper Canada Fiddle Suite
1. Reel
2. Waltz
3. Jig (Listen)

4. One Sail

Flanders Field Reflections
5. The Poppies Blow
6. Still Bravely Singing
7. We Are the Dead
8. Loved and were Loved (Listen)
9. We Shall Not Sleep